REVIEW | Damage Me by Shana Vanterpool

damage-me

Title: Damage Me
Series: Crystal Gulf #2
Author: Shana Vanterpool
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: July 5th, 2016

A broken soldier …

Dylan Meyer lived his life fast and hard, doing anything to keep his emotions masked. In Crystal Gulf, Texas, women, drugs, and alcohol are in abundance. After all, it’s a college town. But eventually, his lifestyle caught up to him. The birth of his daughter, Aubrey, forced him to grow up and take responsibility for his actions. He let his vices go, cleaned up his act, and allowed himself to fall for Harley Evans.

But Dylan is a liar.

He lied to himself. To Harley. To his best friend, Bach. And then he lied himself right into a U.S. Army uniform. When he went to war, he left Harley with his best friend in hopes that he’d look out for her while he was deployed. Not in his darkest nightmares did he think Bach and Harley would fall in love.

A fallen angel …

Hillary Hayes is an eighteen-year-old sophomore in college who understands the importance of rules. She’s followed them her entire life. She gets perfect grades, avoids dating, and won’t stray from the future her mother mapped out. On the outside, she’s perfect. Inside, she’s drowning.

That carefully crafted future disappears when she downs a beer at a party. What’s left of that night is the wreckage of the girl she used to be.

Until she meets Dylan. Her brother’s best friend.

When Dylan returns from war, he can’t move past the betrayal. His daughter’s growing up without him. Flashbacks and PTSD from his time in Afghanistan consume him. He loses himself in a dark depression. There is no light in his darkness …until he meets Hillary. His best friend’s little sister is the only good thing among all the bad.

He’s her safe place.

She’s his light.

Can two damaged souls ever find peace, or is the damage too much to overcome?

unnamed

MY REVIEW
5 damaged stars!

Damage Me is a story about second chances at life and true love. Shana’s writing still is exquisite and astonishing, i love the way she captured the pain and the lost the both main character feel. Damage Me is one of a kind story. Actually the title of the book says what it has done to me, it damaged me, I was left speechless by the end of the book, I had no words, just tears in my eyes. I fell so deep into this book that I was drowning in my feelings. Just because Damage Me I can’t wait for more books by the amazing Shana Vanterpool.

“Dylan Meyer wasn’t just a safe zone anymore. He was the only zone I wanted.”

Dylan is a warrior a fighter, but all he wants to do now is give up. After returning from his tour in Afghanistan, he spends time in hospital, because of his wounds. Convinced that there is no life for him, his girlfriend left him for his best friend, he can’t see his little daughter grow up, because baby mama doesn’t allow it. So all he wants is to give up, there are only two choices for him, get better and see his daughter or get worse and never see his daughter again. Dylan is a very emotional character, he played with my heart and with my emotions. Even though he was vulnerable, sexy, tattooed badass, there was one thing that annoyed me about him, and that’s that he though of himself as a bad person. I think that by far, Dylan is one of best characters in Crystal Gulf world.

“I was an angel before my fall, and I could still fly with my scarred wings.”

Hillary is a good girl,she follows all the rules her mother made for her. She wasn’t supposed to go to the party, she shouldn’t have listened to her friend, but she did and that night that party change her whole life and her whole prespective. She lost trust in people, and that night she found out that people can lie, can stab you in the back if you don’t look. The only person she can trust is Dylan and only person she feels safe around is Dylan. But can two people damaged beyond repair fix each other and build a future for themself?

I give this book FIVE STARS and all I can say is that I cried so much, and felt so much during the reading of this book. This book is an emotional rollercoaster, and I loved every minute of this rollercoaster. Recommended to everyone. I hope you love it as much as I did.

BUY LINKS

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

14155947When I walk into a book store I feel at home. When I smell the pages of a brand new book things make sense. When I read I am who I always wanted to be.

I read to escape and I write so others can as well. My family, my actress dog Bella, coffee, and a steamy love story are a few of my most precious things. Keep up to date with future releases:https://shanavanterpool.com

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Amazon

Leave a Reply

