BOOK REVIEW | War & Peace Duet by K. Webster

THIS IS WAR, BABY review.

this-is-war-baby-front-onlyWhen I received the ARC for this book, I was pretty scared to read it. I would go to the instagram of the author and there would be a lot of pictures, where she wrote things like the darkest book K. Webster has ever written. The first book I read from her was Dirty Ugly Toy (also a dark romance, but not so dark as I thought I would be) and the second book I read from her was This Is War, Baby.. and I can tell you I was scared as fuck to read this book. When I started, it was okay..boyfriend and girlfriend foreplay, okay that’s nice. Then freaking BAM! Shit hit the fan and I was left biting my fingernails, hoping Baylee would survive the nightmare, and poor Brandon.  It scared the freaking shit out of me.

“This can’t be happening.
Not to me.”

Baylee getting kidnapped by her father’s best friend Gabe. He took away her life in three second. Everything she held dear lost in three fucking seconds.

“Now, say goodbye to your bedroom and your pussy-ass boyfriend. You’ll never see them again.”

Baylee was a normal 17 year old girl, a virgin with a boyfriend she loved and friends who adored her. And now, she’s a toy. Used, raped, tortured and brainwashed. She lost everything dear. Nothing was the same anymore. Gabe, her captor and the friend of her father, stoled everything from her, her life, her virginity and her freedom. He used her and abused her. He did unholy things to her (POOR CUCUMBERS, POOR CUCUMBERS, I will never be able to look at cucumbers the same way I did before.), train her to be a perfect little slave and all I wanted to do is throw up, that man was so fucking crazy. Then two weeks later, he sold her to the highest bidder with a promise he will come back for her, and make her his. Possibility of being sold to man worse then Gabe is real.

“He’s the monster in my life – but he’s the one I know – the one I’m familiar with.”

Baylee finds herself being owned by a young gorgeous rich man who has a slew of mental issues and is in a prison of his fears and obsessions.

“For some reason, I don’t obsess over numbers and germs and patterns. Each time you open your mouth, I’m fixated on your words. I’m drawn to the way you say them. When I’m around you, I don’t obsess over my problems because I obsess over you.”

I fell for War immediately. There was something different about him. I have never read about such a character. His obsessions and his fears break a reader’s heart and his POV is realistically and perfectly, brilliantly done. War was something else. He was unlike any captor I’ve read before. I’m pretty sure War will win you over from the moment you’ll meet him. His life story is heartbreaking and everything he went through would you make wanna hug him and wash away the fear and pain.

The man who brought her, War, will become her everything. Her saviour, her anchor, her war and her hope. and she will become his PEACE, his love and saviour. Everything happened so quickly, she was kidnapped, raped and sold in the matter of two weeks, and now she is falling in love with the man who brought. Their relationship blossomed and grew. Even though War and Baylee made an odd match at first, they overtime shared something so special. They became each other’s everything.

The writing was captiviting, brilliant. The storyline was exciting and the three main character were complex and  so well developed. This story had many twists and turns that will keep you on your toes but also there are some scenes that will offend you, leave you disturbed and make you cringe. This is War, Baby, told for multiple POVs is a fast paced dark romance with a mixture of suspense, violence, mystery, conspiracy and erotica as Baylee journeys to uncover the truth of why she was stolen and finding her way home.

STORY ENDS WITH A TERRIFYING CLIFFHANGER.
(I recommended it to all, who love dark romance.)

BUY LINKS FOR TIWB on Amazon:

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

THIS IS LOVE, BABY review.

image1If I am being totally honest, I was scared to read this as much as I was scared to read the first book This Is War, Baby. When I fifnished TIWB I joined a group on facebook, and I spoke about all my theories for TILB, and none, and I MEAN NONE, WERE EVEN A SLIGHTEST BIT the same as the real story. Kristi torn out my heart and stepped all over it. And I really couldn’t really get over what happened in the previous book.

The rules state the pawn
is the weakest piece.
But if the pawn makes
it to the other side, it
gets promoted. The pawn
can become queen. And
then it’s not weak at all.

I can’t write much about this book without spoiling the book for people who are yet to read this book. If I start talking I will reveal  a vital plot to the story and I don’t want to wreck it for you all of you.

This delusional bastard thinks he loves me.
Love doesn’t make you kidnap someone.
Love doesn’t make you violate someone.
Love doesn’t make you murder someone.

I will just write down some quotes without revealing so much of the book. The questions you all had in Book #1 will be resolved in this book…

I tear my gaze to his. “You’re fucking sick.” His gun raises and he points it at me. “And you’re fucking dead.” Pop! Pain explodes in my chest.

“WAR!!!” That voice. Her voice. It’s my heavenly oasis although it sounds distant. I don’t want to close my eyes but they’re already shut and spiralling into darkness.

Some games he will not win because…. LOVE always wins. My LOVE will conquer all. The war has only just begun and the winner will be me.

  • This Is War, Baby

TILB  picks up right where the first book ended.  There are many challenges War and Baylee need to overcome. With both external forces and personal ‘issues’ this unconventional romance between two very different people had a lot going against them and their love. But both of them are determent to return to each other.

We find Baylee right back at the cabin in the woods again, held captive by Gabe yet again, but this time her thoughts are consumed with War’s death and her love for him, we see her fighting back more so than ever before..

I basically couldn’t put this book down. It’s a suspenseful page-turner from page one that just sucked me in. Just so you know, it’s entirely different in so many ways then the other books about captivity.. And that ending! She managed to throw a spin in there right at the very ending leaving the door open for a future book…or just to f*ck with us. I’m not sure which.

War was such a tortured hero. I attached to him in This is War, Baby and when that ending hit, I was devasted more for him than Baylee. His history, his ‘issues’ Baylee was his therapy and he just needed her. Period. He was one those heroes I attached myself too. I couldn’t stand him sufforing.

My favorite quotes:

  • My nucleus. My only reason. I can only exist fully with her. And I am nothing without her.
  • Pain threatens to rip me in two. This useless heart of mine is pounding. Thunderous. And excruciating. Now I understand how one could die of a broken heart. It’s happening to me. I’m drowning in despair.
  • Deep down in the dark depths of my heart, I wanted to believe that he’d lived.
  • The black king and white queen are the only ones left on the board that’s no longer devoid of color. It drips with the crimson blood of the defeated and we stand together.
  • He took my innocence, took my love, and who knows what else? All he gave me in exchange was heartache and pain. And the monster he created. He gave me the dragon.

Time to show them I’m not a pawn.
I’m the motherfucking queen.

This is war, baby. And I will win.

PRE-ORDER LINKS FOR TILB on Amazon:

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

MY TEASERS for This Is War, Baby.

 MY TEASERS for This Is Love, Baby.

 ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

610Mo0RD6VL._UX250_K Webster is the author of dozens of romance books in many different genres including contemporary romance, historical romance, paranormal romance, and erotic romance. When not spending time with her husband of twelve years and two adorable children, she’s active on social media connecting with her readers.

Her other passions besides writing include reading and graphic design. K can always be found in front of her computer chasing her next idea and taking action. She looks forward to the day when she will see one of her titles on the big screen.

You can easily find K Webster on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, and Goodreads!

Website: http://www.authorkwebster.com
Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/bllgoP

Leave a Reply

