BOOK REVIEW | Paper Heart by Claire Contreras

paper-cover-high

Title: Paper Heart
Author: Claire Contreras
Series: Hearts Series #2
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: September 5th 2015

I lost her. No, I didn’t lose her. I threw her away. She was my best friend. I was never supposed to fall in love with her. I was careless. She was heartbroken. I thought I was doing fine. But here she is, years later, forced to work with me, reminding me why I fell in love with her in the first place. And this time I’m going to do everything in my power to never let her go.

unnamed

MY REVIEW
5 STARS!!!

Claire Contreras delivered one of the best second chance romance stories that I have read this year. I’m a big fan of second chance stories and Claire has hit a spot with paper Hearts. It captived me from the beginning, let alone the end. It was an amazing experience.

Also this novel includes the Torn Hearts novella. Torn Hearts is a quick recap of heartbreaking downfall of Mia and Jensen.

Mia and Jensen were not only the very best of friends, but their love is something special.They were inseparable. They were in love. A real and true forever kind of love. When Jensen went off to college, things changed. Even when college pulls them apart it’s not until Jensen makes the biggest mistake does this couple crumble. For Mia, there is no forgiveness.

Basically Jensen and Mia go from…

LOVE
to
HATE

The novella leaves a reader frantic for the release of Paper Hearts.

”Ours was a story that would remain untold, because living it was painful enough.”

Paper Hearts brings five years into the future. Mia takes a freelance photographer position for the same magazine that Jensen works for in NYC. Their paths cross once again. Mia can’t ignore Jensen but her pain is insurmountable and Jensen is simply irresistible.

Mia’s feelings were one hundred percent acceptable to me. Jensen’s regret and heartache was realistically portrayed, which is why I fell for him so easily. Jensen knows the mistake he made was huge, but he wants another chance with the only woman he’s ever truly loved. He wants Mia. As much as Mia tries to deny it, Jensen is still the only man she’s truly loved.He pulls out all the stops to win Mia’s forgiveness and have a future with her.

“You can keep walking away from this, and I’m going to keep letting you, because even when you think you leave, your heart always stays, and it’s something I carry with pride.”

Jensen’s newspaper column was a fantastic addition to the story, and his writing about the love of his life is beyond wonderful.

“Some say I loved her to the point of madness, bordering on obsession… Perhaps they’re all right. Perhaps they’re all right. Perhaps I am mad. And if that’s the case, to be frank, I don’t give a damn. What I know is that she sets me on fire… and I’d rather live my life in flames than be numb without her.”

My most favorite parts in this story were Jensen’s columns ‘Jensen’s Talks’ , it was so easy to get lost in his head and see everything he was thinking and feeling. He made it so easy to love him, he wasn’t perfect, but not everyone is perfect, we all have our flaws.

My thought for today: be cautious with yourself.
Be cautious, because others will beat you down enough. You shouldn’t have to add to that pain. You will, though, because that’s what you do. But you’ll also get back up, because that’s what you do.

There are so many scenes where you will feel gutted by both characters’ pain. There are times where can see the light and all that these two can have if Mia could just let go of the past. If you’re a fan of second chance loves stories, I highly recommend it.

TEASERS

AVAILABLE ON AMAZON:

AMAZON US: http://amzn.to/1FReRES
AMAZON UK: http://amzn.to/1NjiWCi
AMAZON CA: http://amzn.to/1SVUok6

 ABOUT THE AUTHOR

6655354Claire is a New York Times & USA Today Best Selling author, mother of two, wife of one, owner of three dogs, and breast cancer survivor.

She enjoys writing anything from children’s stories to erotic suspense, but her most notable work is a contemporary romance. When she’s not writing, she’s reading and dreaming about places she wants to visit.

FACEBOOK | WEBSITE | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

Leave a Reply

